August 2015 Favorites!

Hey guys, I am back with some favorites for the month of August! There’s a few workout favorites, some makeup favorites, and some local favorites from the good ol’ state of Oklahoma that I’ve been enjoying for the month of August. Let’s get started in no particular order…

Workout Favorites

image

GNC 100% Whey Protein – Vanilla Ice Cream – This is technically my sister’s protein but I’ve tried it and this is one of the best tasting whey proteins I’ve tried. The flavor is Vanilla Ice Cream and it tastes exactly like that. I enjoy it because it’s easy to mix in a protein bottle, and you can also customize it to a vanilla chai latte by adding coffee on mornings that you can’t get a full breakfast meal in! I highly recommend!

image

SuperPump Max PreWorkout – Sometimes it’s been hard for me to find motivation for the gym, but this has been one of my favorite pre-workout drinks. Especially on days that I have two cardio classes and either leg or arm day, this helps me get through my workouts without having to take such long breaks. I also feel energized when I take this. I definitely and highly recommend! The flavor is similar to a fruit punch or Hawaiian punch and it may also taste bitter to some people, but you can either add Crystal Light or Red Gatorade to help with the taste.


Skincare Favorites

image

FROM LEFT TO RIGHT – 

Nivea Men’s Shaving Gel (for Sensitive Skin) – This is one of the best shaving creams I have ever tried. Not only does it give me a closer shave, but my skin feels soft and slightly hydrated. I also love how much product you get. Even if I use approximately a quarter-size amount, I have enough to use on my legs, which is amazing. I love using this on my legs. This also has a light musky cologne scent, which doesn’t smell bad at all!

Origins GinZing Eye Cream – I haven’t used too many eye creams, but this one is one of my favorites. The eye cream comes off as a pinky pearl color, which is perfect for de-puffing your eyes. It’s also hydrating and refreshing on mornings that I haven’t gotten enough sleep. Also, it’s on the lower price range for high-end eye creams, so I would definitely say that this is worth the money.

Dove Nourished Dry Spray Antiperspirant – I purchased this in my August Makeup Haul. This has a nice, clean floral scent without being overwhelming. I like this because I feel like I don’t have to fuss with a roll-on deodorant, and the scent lasts for hours. I highly recommend if you need something to last for a long day at work or even at school.


Makeup Favorites

image

FROM LEFT TO RIGHT –

Revlon ColorStay Gel Envy in Pocket Aces – This is a hot pink or magenta nail polish that looks nice on the nails if you want a bright pink color for the summer time. One of the things that makes this my favorite nail polish is the lasting power. For me, it lasted 3 to 4 days without being chipped (especially since I use my hands a lot during kickboxing and at work). It is affordable as well!

OPI RapiDry Spray Nail Polish Dryer – Another product that I picked up during my August Makeup Haul! I really love this stuff because it’s perfect for drying your nails and leaving a glossy finish, especially when you don’t have the time to wait for your nails to dry. I do have to do thin coats in order for my nail polish to dry faster with the spray, but I honestly don’t mind it since it works so well on my nails.

Milani Lip Liner in Nude – This is surprisingly one of my favorite lip liners, especially when I’m in a rush! It is a nude mauve lip liner that is a great shade for almost any type of skin tone. You can use it as a lip liner, or even use it as a lip pencil. Here are the swatches below with and without flash –

image

NYX HD Concealer – Medium – I bought this on a whim a few months back, and I actually fell in love with this concealer. It’s a full-coverage concealer that I love to use under my eyes. I do have to powder it so it doesn’t crease, but my eye bags become basically undetectable when I use it. Only downfall is the shade range, but other than that, fantastic concealer! Again, here are the swatches for this concealer with and without flash –

image

Minted Rose Lip Balm by Rosebud Perfume Co – One of my favorite night-time lip balms! I have an obsession of applying lip balm every single night, and this is definitely one of my favorites. It’s a sheer pink lip balm that has a minted rose scent. I also like how much product they give you, since I’ve had mine for months now and I haven’t even hit pan! It is also a nice lip plumper if you need something to boost your lips as well.

Rimmel Exaggerate Waterproof Eyeliner in Brown – Again, another product that I picked up during my August Makeup Haul! I’ve used plenty of eyeliners from the drugstore but I never could find one that could stay long enough on my waterline. This one does a fairly good job, considering the price. I love the creamy texture, and the staying power (it lasted through about 8 hours of work). Again, if you haven’t seen my haul, I would recommend on getting the pre-packaged eyeliner because I think it has a slightly different formula than the individually sold un-packaged ones.  Here are some swatches if you want to get an idea of what color it looks like –

image

Maybelline Define-A-Brow in Medium Brown – This is one of my FAVORITE underrated eyebrow pencils from the drugstore. I love the color, the formula and texture, and I feel like it has a pretty good staying power. It’s not waterproof but it stays on for a long time, even in high humidity. I really do highly recommend this product because it makes shading in your brows so easily, especially girls like me who have a tough time filling in their brows. This is also so affordable. I do wish that they had more shades, and the plastic comb isn’t the best, but the formula is awesome! Here is a swatch from the shade Medium Brown –

image


Local Favorites

This is a new section to my blog dedicated to the local places and companies that we have here in Oklahoma. If you ever are looking for a place to hang out or try out, or if you want to try some local products, here are some that I recommend –

image

Local Lather Oklahoma Soap Co (by Meg Rinehart) – I was shopping in the Out on a Limb boutique in the Plaza District when this soap stand caught my eye. The owner talked to me about her products, and although at first I was unconvinced, I went ahead and bought it anyways. I have to say, OH MY GOSH, this is one of my favorite body scrubs of all time. This smells like a Mango Pineapple smoothie but with a slight more of a citrus scent. The scrub contains Pacific Sea Salt, and it contains some essential oils such as sweet almond oil and avocado oil to moisturize your skin after scrubbing the dead skin off. This is amazing for dry skin, or even just as a nice exfoliator if you need to prep your skin for any event. As pictured, I purchased this scrub in the Goji Berry Citrus scent.

The Bleu Garten – I came out here with my friend and my boyfriend, and again, I honestly thought that I wouldn’t have fun here, but I did have lots of fun! I love the outdoor games such as the life-size Jenga table, the life-size Connect Four, and a fun bean-bag toss for all ages. They also have local food trucks that have amazing foods of all kinds. I also like that it’s outdoors and that it’s family-friendly and pet-friendly. I highly recommend this place!

Knuck’s Wheelhouse – One of my favorite pizza restaurants in the state, hands down after being introduced to it by my friend Paul. It’s located downtown, which is convenient especially if you need to stop by somewhere to eat. My favorite things on the menu are the Sriracha Hot Wings, the VooDoo pizza (with crawfish, bacon, mozzarella, jalapeños and red onions), and the HomeSlice (with pesto, mozzarella, pecorino, and truffle fries). Their pizzas are amazing, and their wings are great as well. I highly recommend!

ALRIGHT GUYS, I am sorry if this blog was long, but I enjoyed these places so far! See you guys in my next blog!

Sincerely,

Teresa

3 thoughts on “August 2015 Favorites!

Leave a comment