January-February Favorites!

Hey guys!

I know I’ve been on a hiatus with my blog, but I definitely needed it! I want to thank all of the people who have been loyal to my blog, no matter how long I’ve been gone! You guys are really the reason why that I do this!

It’s been about three months or so since my last post, and I decided not to post anything for January or February just because I never really tried out any new products, and I’ve been going bare-faced many times out in public, so I didn’t feel the need to create a post with only two or three items in it. HOWEVER, I’ve accumulated lots of new products that I really want to share with you guys. It’s going to be a LONNNNGGGGG post so I hope you all have time to read it! 🙂

Skincare/Hygiene

Massage Oil

Soothing Massage Oil in “Peppermint Rosemary”

Soothing Touch Peppermint Rosemary Massage Oil – If you guys have followed me or read my previous posts, you guys know that I have really bad eczema rashes around the wintertime. The air gets drier and colder, and unfortunately, that really irritates my skin! Someone recommended mixing an oil with my favorite lotion, so I decided to pick this up from my local foods store. I LOVE THE SMELL OF THIS OIL!! I’m obsessed with peppermint, so this is right up my alley. I love how it absorbs into the skin, and it doesn’t leave a greasy feeling. I usually do 5 to 10 drops of oil per pump of lotion, and that gives me the right amount of moisture for my skin! Definitely recommend if you need something to help soothe those eczema breakouts!

Peppermint Scrub

Soothing Touch Chocolate Peppermint Brown Sugar Scrub

Soothing Touch Chocolate Peppermint Brown Sugar Scrub – Along with the oil, I picked this up because even though I have eczema breakouts, I also tend to have really flaky, dry skin. I love this scrub because it’s not too harsh, and it has coconut and almond oil, so you don’t have to reapply lotion or moisturizer afterwards! I love using this right before I have to shave my legs! It gives my legs that healthy glow right after I get out of the shower. 🙂

Burt's Bees Wash

Burt’s Bees Acne Solutions Gel Cleanser

Burt’s Bees Acne Gel Cleanser – This past month, I’ve been getting these stubborn breakouts on my face, and it got to a point to where my trusty old AcneFree cleanser was NOT taking care of the problem. I decided to switch to a more natural alternative, and I DEFINITELY love this wash! It has become my staple face wash after the gym. It makes my skin feel refreshed and soft! Best part of it is that it doesn’t have any harsh chemicals, so I think that this will be useful to even the most sensitive skin users.

Glam Glow

GlamGlow Supermud Clearing Treatment

GlamGlow Supermud Clearing Treatment – It’s been a HOT minute since I’ve used this product. Again, as I’ve stated before, this past month has been a breakout war-zone on my face! I found this lying around on my bathroom sink, so I decided to use it again! I love how this mask pulls out the grossest blackheads, and it gets rid of all the excess oil and gunk out of the face! It smells wonderful, and it gives my skin a nice glow! I KNOW that this product is expensive, so I recommend on either splurging it if you have the money, or JUST purchase it when it’s on sale. It hasn’t disappointed me yet!

La Creme Wipes

The Creme Shop Neroli Oil Cleansing Towelettes

The Creme Shop Neroli Oil Cleansing Towelettes – Even though I don’t wear makeup that often, when I do, I get SO LAZY to take it off. I picked this up from TJ Maxx or Marshall’s, and I have to admit, this is one of the best makeup removing wipes that I’ve tried! It does a great job of taking off all of my makeup, and there was one instance where I forgot to wash my face off after using these wipes, but my face never broke out! I highly recommend this!

Dry Spray

EVA NYC “Speed it Up” Blow Dry Spray

EVA NYC Speed It Up Blow Dry Spray – I stopped by at my local ULTA just to see what was new or on sale, and I picked this little spray up! I have to admit, I love this drying spray! It’s a nice spray to use when you need to cut down hair drying time, or if you need it as a quick heat protectant when your hair is still wet! I think this is great because it doesn’t contain alcohol, which some of the other blow-dry sprays have, and I feel like that could damage your hair. I love the smell TOO! It smells like a nice ocean breeze!

Makeup/Beauty

Frida Kahlo Lipstick

Frida Kahlo Lipstick in “Viva”

Frida Kahlo Lipstick in “Viva” – I have to admit, I have an obsession with nude dusty rose lipsticks, and this one HIT THE SPOT for me! I love this shade. I think it’s a great Your Lips But Better shade, and I just adore the packaging. I think this is a great everyday lipstick that will look good on just about any skin tone! I highly recommend it!

Powder

Wet n Wild PhotoFocus Powder in “Warm Beige”

Wet n Wild Photofocus Powder in “Warm Beige” – My biggest pet peeve with any type of powder is the flashback. I picked this up at a local drugstore, and I have to admit, I love this product! It’s so affordable, and it goes on very nicely! It photographs very well, and best part is that it doesn’t leave a huge white-cast flashback. It gives the skin a nice natural, satin finish, where it’s not too matte or too shiny. This has definitely been a winner in my book!

Highlighter

Wet n Wild Megaglo Highlighting Powder in “Crown of My Canopy”

Wet n Wild Megaglo Highlighter in “Crown of My Canopy” – Along with the powder, I decided to purchase the highlighter! I’ve always wanted to try this highlighter, since it’s been raved by so many people on the internet. I can now see why! It’s a natural peachy highlight, and this works as well as some of the high-end highlighters that I’ve purchased. It gives the skin a gorgeous just got sun kissed type of glow! Plus, it’s super affordable! Love!

Bronzer

Revlon Bronzer in “Bronzilla”

Revlon Bronzer in “Bronzilla” – I think that there are SO many drugstore bronzers that are underrated, and I think that this is one of them! I picked this up from my local Big Lots not too long ago, and I’ve been loving it ever since! What I like about this bronzer is that it looks very natural on the skin; it’s definitely not too ashy or too orange. I think that this bronzer works very well on the skin, and a little goes a long way (usually I only dip my brush in it twice and that’s enough to contour or warm up my complexion). Highly recommend!

Ardell Brow Gel

Ardell Brow Building Fiber Gel in “Dark Brown”

Ardell Brow Fiber Gel in “Medium Brown”  – I do have a special spot in my heart for the Essence Brow Gel, but MAN, this is a winner in my book. I was really impressed with this brow gel after using it for a few days. First of all, I really like the brush; it’s small and it can easily thicken up the thinnest of brows without smudging off onto the skin. Second of all, I really like the color. I was a little worried that it would be either too warm-toned or too dark for me, but I found the color was just right! Perfect brow gel for those who need a quick fill-in in small sparse areas!

Concealer

VS Pro Camouflage FX Concealing Palette

VS Pro Camouflage Universal Concealer Palette – This has been sitting in the back of my makeup case untouched for a few years now. I pulled this out, and man, I love this stuff! I love that it has three different shades (which is really all I need). I use the lighter color for underneath my eyes to conceal my dark circles, then I use the medium shade for pimples or acne scars, and I use the darker shade for occasional contouring! I like how it’s travel-sized and that it doesn’t contain too much product, only because I’m the type of person that likes to use as little product as possible to let my skin BREATHE. I don’t think Victoria’s Secret makes this anymore, but I do believe that the Sonia Kashuk “Hidden Agenda” Concealer Palette concealer is a dupe and works just as well!

Nails

Sally Hansen Nail Polish in “What in Carnation”

Sally Hansen Nail Polish in “What in Carnation” – It is indeed spring time, and lately, I’ve been getting the pastel feels! I’ve been loving pastel shades on my nails. I think that they look flattering and gorgeous, especially during this season. This nail polish by Sally Hansen is a nice pastel lilac color, and I have to admit, I also love the fat brush, which makes it WAY easier to paint your nails with your non-dominant hand. Plus this nail polish has lasted a good 10 days on my nails. Highly recommend!

Incoco Nail Strips

Incoco Nail Strips in “Between the Lines”

Incoco Nail Strips in “Between the Lines” – I’ve been super surprised that I haven’t heard any reviews about these nail strips before! I purchased these on a whim at my local Walmart, and these are some of the best nail strips I’ve purchased! Putting these on takes some time, but it definitely cuts down on the nail drying time for me! I like the different designs that they offer, and the best part? These will usually stay on your nails for an average of 10-14 days!

Food/Health

Socks

Nike Elite Socks in “Velvet Galaxies”

Nike Elite Galaxy Socks– I looked at these socks, and my first thought was, “These socks do NOT fit my personality or style whatsoever”. My sister was like, “That is the EXACT reason why you should buy these socks”. I did end up purchasing these, and I have to admit, I LOVE them! I love the colors! It reminds me of a galaxy or a sunset. I’ve gotten lots of compliments on them too. Plus, these are great basketball socks if you’re looking for some new ones.

Pill Holder

Walmart Pill Holder

Weekly Pill Organizer/Pill Holder – I’m not THAT old yet, but I do get forgetful when it’s time to take my vitamins. This has definitely made MY life so much easier! I like how this pill holder separates into morning and evening times, that way I remember which pills I have or have not taken! This pill holder also helps me get into a routine, that way I get into a good habit of taking my vitamins! Plus, it was dirt cheap!

Coffee

G7 Instant Coffee Strong X2

G7 Instant Coffee Strong X2 – I am a HUGE fan of G7 coffee! I wish they would sponsor me already!! I like this coffee because it’s great for those in a pinch (all you need is hot water), and it’s one of the best tasting instant coffees on the market! I love the flavor – it’s rich, bold, and it has a nice dark roast (which is my favorite type of roast really). Downside is that it’s only available at Asian markets, but I don’t mind because it’s all worth it! I highly recommend this stuff if you’re a coffee addict like me!

Papaya Tablets

Trader Joe’s Papaya & Pineapple Enzyme Tablets

Trader Joe’s Papaya and Pineapple Enzyme Tablets – I have to admit, I eat bad occasionally and sometimes it’s hard to digest. These pills have been a lifesaver! Sometimes I’m not able to obtain fresh papaya, so I just take these pills! It helps my digestive system, and it helps me poop (sorry for being immature, but it really does help). I think also helps with your digestive system if you don’t get enough fiber in your diet as well! Plus, these are insanely cheap (probably about $3 to $4 a bottle).

Image result for trader joe's frozen mangos

Trader Joe’s Frozen Mango Chunks (Image – http://www.popsugar.com)

Trader Joe’s Frozen Mangos – I have a sweet tooth at night occasionally, and I have to admit, these help me when I have a craving! I love these mangos because they don’t taste like they’re preserved (which sometimes, some frozen fruits do). They taste so flavorful and fresh! I also like eating them frozen, just because they remind of of eating a fresh fruit popsicle!

Alpen Dark Chocolate 70% Cocoa Muesli Cereal 11.8 oz. Box

Alpen Chocolate Muesli (Image http://www.walmart.com)

Alpen Muesli Dark Chocolate – In the mornings, I am usually pretty lazy when it comes to picking out what I want for breakfast, and this has DEFINITELY made it easier for me. If you haven’t had muesli before, the best way I could describe this, is that it’s a cross between cereal and oatmeal. I love muesli because it’s more flavorful than oatmeal, and I like THIS one even more because it contains chocolate! Plus, it has a lot of fiber and protein, which is great for days that you need to eat something healthy in the mornings.

NurseMates Shoes

Nursemates Shoes in “London”

Nursemates Shoes in the style “London” – For the longest time, I’ve been looking for shoes that are comfortable to wear when I’m at work! I stand on my feet for hours at a time, and I really wanted something with a good, comfy insole. I came across these shoes, and these are actually REALLY comfortable! It’s almost like walking on clouds! I really like that they are white (so they are occupational or work appropriate), and my feet do not hurt while standing HOURS at a time. I highly recommend these if you are working in the healthcare field, and need a dependable, comfortable shoe.

Brooks

Brooks Glycerin 12 in “Brite Pink”

Brooks Glycerin 12 in “Brite Pink” – These are absolute one of my favorite gym shoes! I absolutely LOVE bright colors, so this was perfect for me! I think that almost all types of Brooks have a comfortable, durable insole, and they’re also perfect for those with wide feet (such as myself)! I love Brooks, and this is one pair that I highly recommend if you’re looking for a good running/occupational shoe.

Related image

Asus Zenwatch (1st Generation) – (Image from – http://www.digitaltrends.com)

Asus Zenwatch (1st Generation) – For the longest time, I’ve really wanted to try out an affordable smartwatch, but to be honest, it’s really hard to budget or purchase one when you’re living off of a college student’s income. I purchased this off of EBay, and I have to admit that although it doesn’t have all of the functions of the higher-end smartwatches, it does very many impressive things! Some of the functions of the watch include – a pedometer, calorie counter, weather update, an agenda (if you set it up on your phone), Google translator (you can actually have someone speak into the watch and it’ll translate for you), as well as a Google function (it will automatically search what you need on your phone if you speak into the watch). I think it’s a great, affordable watch, and I love the sleek design. I think that it’s very impressive, and if you’re lucky,  you are able to find this watch around the $50 to $80 range!

**Note – I didn’t have my actual Asus Zenwatch pictured because I have been kind of rough with the straps and it looks a little gnarly!**

Garmin Watch

Garmin Vivosmart HR

Data

Garmin Vivosmart HR data using Garmin Connect app

Garmin Vivosmart HR Watch/Activity Tracker – Along with the Asus Zenwatch, I recently purchased a Garmin Vivosmart HR Watch. I’ve wanted a fitness watch for a while, but again, none of them really fit my budget. I’ve heard many things about the FitBit, but I was very skeptical because although I don’t any negativity towards the product, I do feel as though it has been a little over-hyped! After several weeks, I decided to purchase a refurbished Garmin watch on EBay! I really like this watch because it has several fitness functions (a pedometer, can count floors/flights of stairs, calorie counter, mileage calculator, heart rate monitor) , as well as smartwatch functions (notifies any incoming calls and or texts, updates weather, and can play music). Although it normally ranges from $100 to $150 dollars, I’ve seen it sold as a refurbished or used product for around $30 to $80. So far, it is my favorite fitness watch, and I can tell that I will DEFINITELY be using it for a LONG time.

Superfoods Shake

Pro-Shake Protein Shake in “Superberry”

Pro-Shake Smoothie in “Superberry” – I have bad habits to break, and one of my bad habits is lacking in the fresh fruits and vegetables department. It is so EASY and TEMPTING to just get fast food or to eat badly throughout the week, especially if you’re busy with work or school. However, this has definitely made MY diet a lot easier! This is basically a powdered smoothie or protein mix that can be easily mixed in with milk or iced water. It contains pea protein (for those who have a sensitivity to whey or soy protein), as well as oats, kale, spinach, chia seeds, and LOTS of fiber. I love this because it doesn’t taste like it’s too healthy; it actually tastes like a strawberry milkshake! I REALLY love drinking this in the mornings or evenings when I’m too lazy or in a hurry, and it’s AFFORDABLE, which is great if you’re on a budget!

Cafe Kacao – I have been OBSESSED with this brunch place! I think everyone has a favorite place for brunch, and I think this is my favorite of all time! My go-to brunch meal is a Spicy Tecpan, which comes with spicy scrambled eggs, potatoes with a green chile sauce, and black beans. I’m NOT a bean person, but I feel like they’ve put a little something extra in their black beans to make them taste AMAZING. I also love their pancakes, and I would probably put their pancakes down as one of my wedding cakes if I could! My favorite pancake is the berry one, which comes with a horchata cream sauce and a berry compote. It’s not too sweet, and I love the tartness from the fresh berries. Plus, their coffee selection is AWESOME. If you’re ever in town in Oklahoma City, I recommend this place!

Cafe Kacao 1

Cafe Kacao “Spicy Tecpan”

Cafe Kacao 2

Cafe Kacao Berry Pancakes with Horchata Cream and Berry Compote Sauce

Alright guys! That’s all for my favorites! Thank you all for your support and positive thoughts! I am also grateful that you all have been so patient with me even with the extra-long break that I took! It definitely means a lot to me!

Until next time,

Teresa

 

Leave a Reply

